Sunday, April 11, 2010

Cluster School In Malaysia

Sekolah Kebangsaan Ssri Langat, Banting, Selangor ( Third Phase Cluster School )


The establishment of cluster schools is contained in Chapter 9 of the Education Development Master Plan (PIPP), which was launched on January 16, 2006. Cluster School is based on the PIPP approach to develop the full potential of the cluster schools of excellence in the mechanism described in the Strategic Thrust 6, Accelerating Excellence Institution. Literature review shows that the practice of clustering of schools carried out to improve the quality of education. Groupings are done on the basis of locality or excellence.


Cluster School is a brand name given to the schools identified in the cluster of outstanding aspects of school management and student excel.The creation of the cluster aims to boost excellence in schools in the school education system of Malaysia and develop exemplary school by the school in the same cluster and other schools outside the cluster.


Cluster School was created to boost school performance in the Malaysian education system


There are three committees established to implement the concept of cluster schools. The committees are;

• School Selection Committee - chaired by the Director of Education
• Advisory Panel - chaired by YBhg. Tan Sri Datuk Seri Panglima Dr. Abdul Rahman Arshad.
• Implementation Committee - chaired by the Deputy Director of Education (School Department)

Implementing the school cluster is based on the decentralization process that involves the empowerment of schools through the provision of guided autonomy. Views of stakeholders such as the PTA, alumni, school leaders and teachers were taken into account in implementing the cluster school. They were directly involved in the Workshop School Autonomy Cluster Ministry of Education held on 19-20 March 2007. Cluster Schools Advisory Panel was set up to provide expert advice to ensure the implementation of the cluster schools run successfully.

Cluster School Selection Criteria

Selection of schools will be made based on the following clusters:

• Primary School Sekolah Kebangsaan (SK), Chinese National Type Schools (SJKC), Tamil National Type Schools (SJKT) and the School of Natural Persons.
• School of Residential Schools (SBP), School of Engineering (SMT), National Religious Secondary Schools (SMKA), School Day, School of Premier, One Hundred Years School, a school in the vicinity of Putrajaya and Cyberjaya, and the Special Model School.
• Special Education Primary School (SPK) and Special Education Secondary School (SMPK), and High School Special Education (SMPKV).
• International Schools and Private Schools
• Institutions such as the secondary after Matriculation College and the Institute of Teacher Education (IPG)

The selection of these schools should meet the following Terms and Conditions:

• First Prerequisites
- Strengthening the School Standards
• Schools must achieve a minimum standard of Excellence on Education Quality Standards (SKPM)
• Second Prerequisites
• Excellence Curriculum (Primary School)
• Average Grade School (GPS) for public examination PMR and SPM 3 consecutive years:

- SBP: GPS 2.5 and below
- SMKA: GPS 3.0 and below
- SMT: GPS 4.0 and below
- Cm Daily: gps 4.0 and below

• Excellence Curriculum (Primary School)
• School Day: 80%, and the student passed all subjects in the UPSR, or
• increasing percentage of passes, or
• GPS UPSR: 2 and under

Terms election

• Excellent student in terms of:

i) Academic
ii) Co
iii) Personality

• Management of visionary and effective
• Development of resources managed and used optimally
• quality of school leadership
• Management education and learning
• school climate conducive to the development of human capital
• Effective implementation of the program MOE
• Schools with character

Schools that meet the Terms and Conditions set out above may submit an application and electoral procedures are as follows;

• Step 1: Acceptance of nomination
• Step 2: Assessment using the instrument and Annex SKPM
• Step 3: Determination of the standard (standard fixing) by the Implementation Committee School Cluster
• Step 4: The validity of a candidate in the Hal-Hal Meeting Professionals
• Step 5: Candidates are advised to Advisory Board
• Step 6: Announcement by Minister of Education

Cluster School Management

Cluster school leaders are:

• Principal (DG52/DGA 36)
• The selected leaders meet outstanding leaders
• Occupation: school-based post

Cluster school teachers are:

• Meets criteria Excellent Teachers
• The performance will determine whether they remain teaching at the School Cluster
• Those who are experts in niche areas of school curriculum in a contract or part-time
• Class: teacher ratio is 1:2

Method of selecting school cluster:

• Cluster SBP, SMT and SMKA remain as existing practices
• other cluster, the principal / head teacher is empowered to take a small amount of new students to the field of school kebitaraan
• School screening test

Accountability of school leaders

• Based on

Key Performance Indicator (KPI)

i) management of human resources and physical
ii) financial resources
iii) the development of professional staff
iv) an effective program of curriculum and curriculum
v) quality of school graduates: academic achievement, curriculum and personality

School autonomy:

Type of autonomy granted to the following schools:

• General (for all schools)
• Special (in accordance with the needs of schools based on school type, education and niche areas

Autonomy given is guided autonomy need to:

• Compliance with the following standards:

i) Education Act 1996
ii) National Education System
iii) the Financial Procedure Act 1957, Treasury Circulars and Guidelines and release letters
iv) SKPM

Autonomy Field List

ii) Management School
ii) Human Resource Management
iii) Management of Financial Resources and Physical Resources
iv) Curriculum Management
v) Co-Curriculum Management

No comments:

Post a Comment